تعليم الكبار

مكتبنا حاليًا مختلط، ويتم تقديم فصول تعليم الكبار ومحو الأمية لدينا شخصيًا وعن بعد. لمزيد من المعلومات، اتصل بالرقم 718-624-3475.

قم بالتسجيل في فصل ESOL الخاص بنا هنا.

توفر وحدة تعليم الكبار التابعة لـ FAC 16 فصلًا دراسيًا سنويًا لأكثر من 500 بالغ من أكثر من 24 دولة أصلية. يسعى هؤلاء الطلاب إلى تطوير اكتسابهم للغة، وتحسين فرص عملهم، ودعم تعليم أطفالهم، بالإضافة إلى تحسين مهارات القراءة والكتابة والرياضيات لديهم. تتمثل أهدافنا في توسيع فرص العمل للطلاب، ومساعدتهم في الحصول على شهادة الدراسة الثانوية، وتسجيلهم في التدريب الوظيفي أو التعليم ما بعد الثانوي. يشجع برنامجنا التعليمي أيضًا طلابنا البالغين على أن يصبحوا مشاركين نشطين في تعليم أطفالهم من خلال إعدادهم لمؤتمرات الآباء والمعلمين، ومساعدتهم في البحث وترتيب الزيارات إلى المدارس المتوسطة والثانوية أثناء عملية التقديم لوزارة التعليم وتقديم المساعدة ما قبل الروضة للجميع! تسجيل.

المشاركون في معادلة الثانوية العامة.

نحن نساعد طلابنا على العثور على صوتهم ليصبحوا أعضاء نشطين في مجتمعاتهم، بدءًا من التجمع من أجل إنشاء مكتبة جديدة في Sunset Park وحتى مقابلة المسؤولين المنتخبين للدفاع عن الأموال لدعم تعليم الكبار. باتباع نموذج التعليم الشعبي لباولو فريري، تم تصميم الفصول الدراسية لاحترام التاريخ الثقافي والتعليمي للمشاركين وتمكينهم من تحقيق أهدافهم وتحسين مجتمعهم.

جعل المعلمون من السهل التكيف. وفي النهاية أصبحت صديقًا للرياضيات مرة أخرى! أطفالي فخورون جدًا بي. أحفادي متحمسون جدًا لدرجة أنهم لا يستطيعون الانتظار ليقيموا لي حفل تخرج.

استير ف.

FAC طالب تعليم الكبار وناشط مجتمعي

اللغة الإنجليزية للمتحدثين بلغات أخرى (ESOL) المشاركين.

منذ ما يقرب من 20 عامًا، قدمت وحدة تعليم الكبار في FAC خدمات فعالة للغاية وموجهة لتحقيق النتائج في مجال تعليم الكبار ومحو الأمية للآلاف من سكان نيويورك ذوي الدخل المنخفض، وفتحت لهم أبواب الفرص للحصول على وظائف أفضل والتعليم العالي والمشاركة بشكل أعمق في الحياة. مجتمعاتهم. لقد تم التعرف على فئات FAC باستمرار على أنها ذو كفاءة عالية من قبل وزارة التعليم بولاية نيويورك وتم تصنيفها من قبل الوكالة ضمن الربع الأعلى من برامج تعليم الكبار في جميع أنحاء ولاية نيويورك لكل سنة من السنوات الثماني الماضية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، صنفت إدارة الشباب وتنمية المجتمع بمدينة نيويورك (DYCD) تعليم الكبار التابع لـ FAC كأحد "أفضل البرامج في المدينة".

يخدم تعليم الكبار في FAC البالغين والأسر ذات المستويات المنخفضة في معرفة القراءة والكتابة ومهارات اللغة الإنجليزية، ويوفر بيئة تعليمية صارمة وداعمة وفصولًا تشمل: اللغة الإنجليزية للمتحدثين بلغات أخرى (ESOL)، والتعليم الأساسي للبالغين (ABE)، ومعادلة المدارس الثانوية. (HSE)، وفصول الجسر التي تستخدم التعليم والتدريب المتكامل (IET) والتعليم المتكامل لمحو الأمية والتربية المدنية باللغة الإنجليزية (IEL/CE)، وفصول محو الأمية الأسرية، ودعم الوصول إلى الكلية.

انتقلت برمجة تعليم الكبار إلى التعلم عن بعد خلال جائحة كوفيد-19.

يتم تنفيذ البرمجة من قبل مدرسين ذوي خبرة، ويتم تقديم الفصول الدراسية في مواقع متعددة في جنوب بروكلين، بما في ذلك الكنائس والمدارس العامة والمراكز المجتمعية لضمان إمكانية الوصول. يشجع موظفو البرنامج أيضًا المشاركين على الاستفادة من الفرص التي توفرها الخدمات الأخرى التي تقدمها FAC، مثل التدريب القطاعي الذي توفره الشركة التابعة لتنمية القوى العاملة التابعة لـ FAC، ابتكارات القوى العاملة في بروكلين (BWI); وفحص المنافع العامة وتسجيلها، والمساعدة في إعداد الضرائب، والاستشارات القانونية والمالية التي نقدمها خدمات المجتمع وحدة.

تسليط الضوء على البرنامج: برنامج جسر صن سيت بارك

ال جسر صن سيت بارك برنامج (ويعرف أيضا باسم برنامج جسر تعليم الكبار وتنمية القوى العاملة للأمريكيين الجدد) هي شراكة بين وحدة تعليم الكبار في FAC و ابتكارات القوى العاملة في بروكلين. إذا كنت ترغب في الحصول على رخصة القيادة التجارية الخاصة بك مع الخطاف الأحمر على الطريق أو تصبح مُثبِّت كابل من المستوى الأول معتمدًا من BICSI شبكات بروكلينمهارات اللغة الإنجليزية القوية هي أحد مفاتيح النجاح. يتضمن كلا البرنامجين مفردات واختبارات خاصة بالصناعة تستخدم كلمات وعبارات إنجليزية لا تراها في فصل ESOL النموذجي. بالنسبة للمتقدمين الذين يرغبون في صقل مهاراتهم في اللغة الإنجليزية حتى يتمكنوا من بدء مهنة جديدة، فإن برنامج جسر صن سيت بارك يمكن أن تساعدهم على البدء. ثم ينتقل المتقدمون إلى برنامج التدريب المهني الخاص بهم.

Students in a Commercial Driver's License class
يشارك المشاركون في برنامج Sunset Park Bridge في الفصل الإعدادي لرخصة القيادة التجارية.

ال برنامج جسر صن سيت بارك يخدم ذوي الدخل المنخفض وغير الناطقين باللغة الإنجليزية. لا يجب أن يكون المتقدمون مواطنين، بل فقط من سكان مدينة نيويورك المؤهلين للعمل في الولايات المتحدة. يتمتع مقدم الطلب المثالي بالفعل بمهارات اللغة الإنجليزية على مستوى المحادثة ولكنه يتطلع إلى توسيعها وتعلم مفردات خاصة بالصناعة قبل الانتقال إلى تدريبه المهني إما مع Red Hook on the Road أو Brooklyn Networks. يجب أن يكون لدى المتقدمين اهتمام قوي بالعمل كسائق تجاري أو فني كابلات.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو للتقديم، اتصل بالرقم 929-732-1021.

Adult Education

COVID-19 Update: To help combat the spread of COVID-19, our office is currently working remotely, and our Adult Education and Literacy classes are being provided virtually online. For more information, call 718-624-3475.

FAC’s Adult Education Unit provides 16 classes annually to over 500 adults from over 24 countries of origin. These students seek to advance their language acquisition, improve their employment prospects, support their children’s education, as well as improve their reading, writing, and math skills. Our goals are to expand students’ employment opportunities, help them gain a high school diploma, and enroll them in job training or postsecondary education. Our education program also encourages our adult students to become active participants in their children’s education by preparing them for Parent-Teacher conferences, helping them research and arrange visits to middle school and high schools during the Department of Education’s application process and providing assistance for PRE-K for ALL! registration.

Higher Secondary School Certificate students. 

We help our students find their voice to become active members of their communities, from rallying for a new library in Sunset Park to meeting elected officials to advocate for funds to support adult education. Following Paulo Freire’s Popular Education model, classes are designed to respect participants’ cultural and learning histories and empower them to achieve their goals and improve their community.

The teachers made it easy to adapt. I eventually became friends with math again! My children are so proud of me. My grandchildren are so excited that they can’t wait to throw me a graduation party.

Esther F.

FAC Adult Education Student & Community Activist

English as a Second Language (ESL) students.

For nearly 20 years, the Adult Education Unit at FAC has provided highly effective, outcome-driven adult education and literacy services for thousands of low-income New Yorkers, opening doors of opportunity for them to better jobs, higher education and deeper engagement in their communities. FAC’s classes have been consistently recognized as Highly Proficient by the New York State Education Department and have been ranked by the agency in the top quartile of adult education programs across NY State for each of the past 8 years. Additionally, the NYC Department of Youth & Community Development (DYCD) has ranked FAC’s Adult Education as one of the “best programs in the city.”

Serving adults and families with low levels of literacy and English language skills, Adult Education at FAC provides a rigorous and supportive learning environment and classes that include: English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL), English Language Acquisition (ELA), Adult Basic Education (ABE), High School Equivalency Diploma (HSE), and bridge classes employing Integrated Education and Training (IET) and Integrated English Literacy and Civics Education, Family Literacy Classes, and College Access Support.

Adult Education programming transitioned to remote learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Programming is carried out by experienced instructors, and classes are offered in multiple locations in South Brooklyn, including churches, public schools, and community centers to ensure accessibility. Program staff also encourage participants to take advantage of opportunities provided by FAC’s other services, such as job training and employment supports offered through our Neighborhood Employment Services program (NES); sector-based training provided by FAC’s workforce development affiliate, Brooklyn Workforce Innovations (BWI); and public benefits screening and enrollment, tax preparation assistance, and legal and financial counseling offered by our Community Services unit.

Program Highlight: Sunset Park Bridge Program

The Sunset Park Bridge Program (aka the New Americans Adult Education and Workforce Development Bridge Program) is a partnership between FAC’s Adult Education unit and Brooklyn Workforce Innovations. If you want to earn your Commercial Driver’s License with Red Hook on the Road or get certified in cable installation with Brooklyn Networks, strong English language skills are one key to success. Both of these programs involve industry-specific vocabulary and exams that use English words and phrases you don’t see in a typical ESOL class. For applicants who want to hone their English language skills so they can start a new career, the Sunset Park Bridge Program can help them get started. Then, applicants move on to their career training program.

Students in a Commercial Driver's License class
Sunset Bridge Program students take part in a Commercial Driver’s License permit prep class. 

The Sunset Park Bridge Program serves low-income, non-native English speakers. Applicants don’t have to be citizens, just New York City residents who are eligible to work in the United States. The ideal applicant already has conversational-level English skills, but is looking to expand them and learn industry-specific vocabulary before moving on to their career training with either Red Hook on the Road or Brooklyn Networks. Applicants should have a strong interest in working as a commercial driver or a cable technician.

For more information or to apply, call 929-732-1021.